, pub-0848231481988338, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
Car Crash Rating

The Australian Star Crash Rating Programme is a critical initiative that plays a pivotal role in shaping vehicle safety standards across the country. Developed to safeguard drivers, passengers, and pedestrians on Australian roads, this programme is a comprehensive system for assessing and rating the safety of vehicles available in the market. In this article, we’ll delve into the history, purpose, and significance of the programme, and explore which cars have achieved the highest and lowest safety ratings. As part of maintaining vehicle safety, we’ll also discuss the importance of regular car service in Ferntree Gully and obtaining a Roadworthy Certificate (RWC) in Wantirna.

The Australian Star Crash Rating Programme, commonly referred to as ANCAP (Australasian New Car Assessment Programme), was established in 1993. It emerged as a collaborative effort between the Australian and New Zealand governments, along with various motoring clubs and research institutions. Its primary objective was to provide consumers with information about the safety features and crash performance of vehicles available in the market.

ANCAP introduced a standardized system for assessing vehicle safety by conducting a series of crash tests. This allowed consumers to make informed choices when purchasing new cars and encouraged manufacturers to prioritise safety improvements in their designs.

How ANCAP ratings work
ANCAP’s vehicle safety ratings are based on a combination of crash tests and assessments of a car’s safety features. The frontal-offset, side-impact and pole tests are included in this, all of which evaluate a vehicle’s ability to protect occupants in various collision scenarios. In addition to the results of these crash tests, the programme will assess the vehicle’s built-in safety features including the presence of airbags, electronic stability control (ESC), autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and other advanced technologies. The inclusion and effectiveness of these features significantly influence the safety rating.

The star rating system
The star rating system reflects a car’s performance in the above tests, with higher stars indicating better safety performance and a superior ability to protect occupants in a crash. It provides a clear and straightforward way for consumers to understand a vehicle’s safety performance.

The rating ranges from 1 star, which is the least safe mark, to five stars, the safest award that can be achieved. A higher star rating indicates a vehicle’s superior ability to protect occupants in a crash.

The most and least safe cars according to ANCAP
Over the years, ANCAP ratings have become a significant factor for Australian consumers when choosing a vehicle. Car manufacturers are continually working to improve the safety of their models to achieve higher ANCAP ratings. Here are some examples of the most and least safe cars according to ANCAP ratings:

Some of the safest small cars that were tested within the past year and achieved a five-star rating from the ANCAP were the Cupra Born, the GWM Ora, the MG 4 Electric and the Volkswagen Golf. Within the same parameters, ANCAP awarded only two medium cars five stars in 2022, the Hyundai Ioniq 6 and the Mercedes Benz C Class. In the large car section, the Citroen C5 X and the Mercedes Benz EQE were awarded five stars in 2022.

When it comes to SUVs, there were at least ten small SUVs that won a five-star rating last year in line with the growing numbers of these vehicles on Australian roads. Some of the most recently awarded are the Alfa Romeo Tonale and the BMW iX1. In the medium SUV category, the Lexus RZ, GMW’s Haval H6 and the Kia Sportage came out on top in 2022, all with a top rating.

Within the past five years, the programme has not rated any vehicle with only one star, apart from the Jeep Wrangler, which was tested and certified in 2018. Prior to this, the Nissan Urvan/E25, the Proton Jumbuck and the Mitsubishi Express L300 were all awarded just one star. However, all of these are old models and are no longer produced.

Importance of the Australian Star Crash Rating Programme
As you can see, this programme enables customers to make an informed decision when they’re purchasing a vehicle. Due to the fact that the ratings are viewable online by anyone, manufacturers are incentivised to adjust their designs and include more safety features. Ultimately, this helps to reduce road accidents, fatalities and the associated financial costs.

While the designers and manufacturers have a role to play, so too does the vehicle owner. Once you have purchased a car, SUV or van, it becomes your responsibility to keep it in good condition. Roadworthy Certificates prove that you have been doing this and they are also essential when selling, re-registering, or transferring ownership of a vehicle. You can obtain one from a mechanic after a car service in Ferntree Gully, and there are also many places to get your roadworthy in Wantirna.

As we can see, the ANCAP has been instrumental in improving vehicle safety standards in Australia since its inception in 1993. In conjunction with ANCAP ratings, regular car service in Ferntree Gully and obtaining a Roadworthy Certificate in Wantirna are vital steps in ensuring the safety and reliability of your vehicle on Australian roads., pub-0848231481988338, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0